Woodie's Pivot Point Calculator Calculation

Few days ago in Unofficed forum, We were discussing about Pivot Points. I was reading about that lately and found something called Woodies’ pivot point.

I landed in the above website with the above calculator.

When I saw half values are missing, I digged below to check the formula -

### Woodie’s Pivot Points

The formula employed in the calculation of Woodie Pivot Points are:

R4 = R3 + range
R3 = H + 2 * (PP – L) (same as: R1 + RANGE)
R2 = PP + range
R1 = (2 * PP) – LOW
PP = (HIGH + LOW + (TODAY’S OPEN * 2)) / 4
S1 = (2 * PP) – HIGH
S2 = PP – range
S3 = L – 2 * (H – PP) (same as: S1 – RANGE)
S4 = S3 – range

Where R1 through R4 are Resistance levels one to four, PP is that the Pivot point, S1 through S4 are support levels one to four, range is that the High minus the Low for the given timeframe (usually daily).

As I am a mathematician, I became quite sure that S3,S4,R3,R4 should be there. So I wrote a small piece of JS quickly to check on it.

Sure, here’s an example JavaScript code to calculate the pivot points and support and resistance levels based on the provided formula:

const open = 86;
const high = 123;
const low = 22;
const close = 60;

const range = high - low;
const pp = (high + low + (2 * open)) / 4;
const r1 = (2 * pp) - low;
const r2 = pp + range;
const r3 = high + 2 * (pp - low);
const r4 = r3 + range;
const s1 = (2 * pp) - high;
const s2 = pp - range;
const s3 = low - 2 * (high - pp);
const s4 = s3 - range;

console.log(`PP: ${pp.toFixed(2)}, R1: ${r1.toFixed(2)}, R2: ${r2.toFixed(2)}, R3: ${r3.toFixed(2)}, R4: ${r4.toFixed(2)}, S1: ${s1.toFixed(2)}, S2: ${s2.toFixed(2)}, S3: ${s3.toFixed(2)}, S4: ${s4.toFixed(2)}`);

The answer came -

PP: 79.25, R1: 136.50, R2: 180.25, R3: 237.50, R4: 338.50, S1: 35.50, S2: -21.75, S3: -65.50, S4: -166.50

I digged more content -